Overall Rating: 4.3 (of 5)
Rating Votes %
149 66 ||
37 16 ||
8 4 ||
11 5 ||
20 9 ||
From 225 votes total
Rate This Lesson
Rate from 1 (poor) to 5 (best)
Send Feedback

Daily Scales -Major, 1 Octave

Laurence Mollerup (922) · [archive]
Style: Basics · Level: Beginner · Tempo: 40
Pages: 1

Here are all the Major Scales for daily practice in one octave.

We'll start with "C" major and progress through the cycle of fourths. (The cycle of fourths is a way of moving through every key signature.) If you play the first four notes of a "C" major scale you'll play C D E F - That means "F" is a perfect fourth above "C", so the next scale is "F" major. After "F" major, we'll play "Bb" major, because starting at "F" we have the notes F G A Bb. So "Bb" is the next scale in the cycle of fourths.

The whole Cycle of fourths is: C F Bb Eb Ab Db Gb B E A D G

Enjoy these scales, and try them a little faster every day. Make sure you can name every note before you play it, and work on a few different fingerings for each scale.
Daily Scales -Major, 1 Octave
Add a Comment